ProWorld congratulates Kevin Anderson to reach final in Memphis Open

Kevin Anderson with ProWorld Coach Cyril Saulnier

Cyril Saulnier, ProWorld Coach, and Kevin Anderson at ProWorld. Read more about Cyril here. Read more about Kevin Anderson at ProWorld here.

Memphis_Open2 Memphis_Open

Source ATP World Tour by ATP Staff

Memphis Open was taken by storm as Kevin Anderson rallied from a set down to defeat Donald Young, see Donald Young at ProWorld, 4-6, 6-3, 6-4 and Kevin reached the final.

The World No. 15 would fend off all four break points faced in the second and third sets, overcoming a stern test from the home favourite to emerge victorious in one hour and 59 minutes. Anderson, who improved to 5-1 in his FedEx ATP Head2Head series against Young, exacted revenge after falling in the Citi Open quarter-finals last year.

“I thought it was a really tough match,” said Anderson. “There were parts of the match where I didn’t feel like I maybe played my best tennis, but I was able to hang in there.

“I’ve got a shot at winning the title tomorrow and that’s what I came here to do. It feels good to be in the final. I’ve enjoyed this week… I’m going to treat it like any other match. Obviously it’s a final, but I’m just going to focus on what has worked well for me this week.”

It is the ninth ATP World Tour final for the 28-year-old South African, who is looking to snap a string of five straight defeats in tour-level title matches as he bids for his third crown.

Sunday’s final will be the first in Memphis between the top two seeds since 2007. Nishikori is also playing for the first Memphis “three-peat” since 2007.

“It would be great if I win three in a row, but it’s not about defending the title,” said Nishikori. “It’s about playing good tennis, and the result will come if I play good.”

Leave a comment