Spotlight Ivana Jorovic Player Profile

Source: ITFtennis.com

Ivana2

Serbian 17-year-old Ivana Jorovic, a former World junior No. 1, showcased her superior court-craft before breaking into a disarming smile upon outwitting higher-ranked Barbara Haas from Austria 62 62 in a battle of unseeded teenagers to win the $50,000 QNET Open ITF Women’s Circuit at the DLTA Complex here on Saturday.

Having committed to playing in the tournament a few months ago when she was convinced that she would get a wild card entry if she did not gain direct acceptance to the main draw, Jorovic could look back at her week in Delhi with satisfaction. A string of good performances secured her biggest pro crown in a nascent career which has seen her claim four $10,000 ITF titles between October 2012 and November 2013.

Ivana1

The finalists had both come through tough three-set semifinals on Friday but Jorovic, ranked 502 as the main draw action got underway, showed that she had recovered better and was ready to outslug and out-think her rival. She broke Haas’ serve in the opening game itself, riding on a remarkable drop shot and a stunning backhand down the line.

She sustained her quality of play and quickly opened up a 4-0 lead before the Austrian, ranked 150 places higher, could win a game. Haas, however, broke Jorovic’s serve early in the second set but did not build on the gains as the younger player produced winners at critical moments and quickly recovered lost ground.

The Serb committed a series of double faults in two successive service games in the second set but pulled herself together to stop the match from being stretched into a third set. It can also be said that though Haas sensed an opportunity of making a match of it, her inability to change her game tactically helped Jorovic, who picked up the winners cheque and vital ranking points which boosted her WTA ranking to a new career high of 309.

Ivana3

“I was a bit stiff at the start but then I loosened up a bit and played better. I felt a bit pressurised at the end because it was the winning game. I was very nervous” Jorovic stated after the match, adding: “My goal was to be No.1 [on the Junior Circuit] and I did it this year and now my next goal is to be ranked under 100 or 150 [on the WTA rankings].”

Runner-up Haas commented: “I could have played aggressive, I tried but made too many unforced errors and I even had a lot of chances in the second set. I was a bit nervous at times but I am happy. Today wasn’t my best game but it’s okay.”

 

Leave a comment